National Representatives

Because we have broadened the scope of the organization in recent years, the STAR Board has appointed the following national representatives to acquaint colleagues in their respective countries with our organization. Please feel free to contact your national representative, the President or the Secretary if you have ideas on how to recruit new members into the organization. If your country does not have a national representative and you would like to suggest someone (including yourself), please contact the STAR President.

The term of a national representative is three years, renewable if agreed upon. The primary role of a national representative is to enhance STAR’s visibility through:

  • Announcement of the “Call for papers” for the STAR annual meetings in Newsletters, Journals, etc.
  • Recruitment of new members who are doing research in the areas of stress, anxiety and coping,
  • Reporting on your activities as national representatives at the annual STAR conference,
  • Distribution of STAR information materials.

National representatives receive multiple copies of the STAR brochure, membership application forms, and annual meeting pamphlets on a regular basis. However, due to budgetary limitations, STAR cannot reimburse national representatives for mailings, advertisements, etc. Hopefully, local universities will be willing to underwrite these expenses.

The current national representatives are

Argentina Nora B. Leibovich, University of Buenos Aires
Australia Kate Moore, Federation University Australia
Austria Anton Laireiter, Universität Salzburg
Brasil Claus Dieter Stobaus, Pontifícia Universidade Católica do Rio Grande do Sul (PUCRS)
Canada Esther Greenglass, York University,
China Jian Li, Kunming Medical University
Croatia Natasa Jokic-Begic University of Zagreb
Czech Republic Iva Stuchlikova, University of South Bohemia
Denmark Mette Bentzen
Dominican Republic Cecil Hiraldo, Catholic University of Santo Domingo
Finland Juhani Julkunen, University of Helsinki
France Leon-Patrice Celestin, Dept. Child & Adolescent Psychiatry,
C.H.I. Hospital Poissy-Saint German
Germany Sonja Rohrmann, Johann-Wolfgang-Goethe-Universität
Petra Buchwald, Bergische Universitat Wuppertal, Germany
Greece Eleni Vasilaki, University of Crete
Hong Kong Wai-Kai Hou, The Hong Kong Institute of Education
Hungary Kornel Sipos, Semmelweis University (Budapest),
Faculty of Phys. Educ.
India Krishnan Saraladevi, University of Madras
Ireland Siobhán Howard, Mary Immaculate College, University of Limerick
Israel Moshe Zeidner, University of Haifa
Italy Anna Laura Comunian, Padova University
CaterinaMesserschmidt–Grandi, Claudiana, Italy
Mexico Emilia Lucio-Gomez, University of Mexico City
New Zealand Ian de Terte, Massey University, Wellington
Norway Tuva Øktedalen , University of Oslo
Pakistan Syed Ali Akbar Naqvi, Government Degree College Raiwind
Poland Dorota Wlodarczyk, Medical University of Warsaw
Aleksandra Kroemeke, University of Social Sciences and Humanities, Warsaw
Portugal Saul Neves de Jesus, University of Algarve, Faro
Puerto Rico Sylvia Fernández Colorado, Carlos Albizu University
Romania Eva Kallay, Babes-Bolyai University
Russia Vladimir Kuznetsov, Nothern State Meical University
Singapore Vivian Ng, National University of Singapore
Slovakia Ivan Sarmany Schuller, Slovak Academy of Science Bratislava
Spain Albert Sesé, Balearic Island University
Switzerland Pamela Rackow, University of Zurich
The Netherlands Joost Meijer, University of Amsterdam
Turkey Emine Erktin, Bogazici University of Istanbul
United Kingdom Mike Rennie
United States of America Brian Hall, VA Medical Center Charleston, South Carolina
David Manier, Lehman College – City University of New York

* if you are interested in becoming a National Representative for your country, please contact
Tobias Ringeisen.